Home

LIVE SUPPORT

Configuration Exchange 2010 étape par étape

Cette page vous guidera à travers les étapes nécessaires à la configuration d’une nouvelle installation de Microsoft Exchange 2010 serveur. Les paramètres et fonctionnalités de la configuration pour recevoir depuis un compte POPcon ou POPcon PRO et l’envoi des emails sortants vers l’Internet, seront aussi détaillés.

Essentiellement, vous avez besoin d’effectuer ces quelques étapes simples::

  1. Ajouter votre nom de domaine à la liste des Domaines acceptés
  2. Configurez le Connecteur d’envois pour les emails sortants
  3. Configurez un Connecteur de réception pour les emails entrants (depuis POPcon) sans authentification
  4. Assignez des adresses emails individuelles aux utilisateurs Active Directory
  5. (Optionnel) Installation et configuration de POPcon, le connecteur Exchange POP3
  6. (Optionnel) Jetez un œil à notre Add-in Outlook Exchange, Change Sender

1. Ajouter votre nom de domaine a la liste des Domaines acceptés

Ouvrez la Console de Gestion Exchange et sélectionnez - Configuration du serveur puis Transport Hub.

In the middle pane select the Accepted Domains tab. There already will be one local domain configured here. You can leave it.

Choisissez un Nouveau domaine accepté dans le panneau des Actions.


Choisissez un nom pour ce domaine (non nécessaire) et entrer votre nom de domaine Internet (dans le format domaine.com sans @ ou *@) comme Domaine accepté.

Aussi, sélectionnez le Domaine faisant autorité pour indiquer a Exchange d’accepter les emails provenant d’Internet pour ce nom de domaine et pour dire a Exchange qu’il est le responsable pour tout le domaine.

Remarque : Dans le cas rare ou vous voudriez seulement gérer une partie du domaine dans votre serveur Exchange (exemple : vous avez seulement quelques adresses emails appartenant à ce nom de domaine dans votre Exchange et désirez envoyer des emails sortants vers l’Internet pour toutes les autres adresses de ce domaine, veuillez sélectionner Domaine Relais Externe afin que votre serveur Exchange accepte les emails provenant d’Internet pour ce nom de domaine et aussi pour que votre serveur Exchange ne soit responsable que d’une partie de ce nom de domaine).



Vous pouvez aussi utiliser l'environnement de ligne de commande Exchange Management Shell pour créer un domaine accepté, voici comment:

La cmdlet suivante vous permettra de créer un domaine accepté faisant autorité dans votre organisation:

New-AcceptedDomain -Name "votrenomdedomaine" -DomainName votrenomdedomaine.com -DomainType Authoritative


2. Configurez le Connecteur d’envois pour les emails sortants

Le connecteur d’envois est utilisé pour envoyer les emails sortants du serveur Exchange, via le serveur SMTP relais de votre fournisseur d’accès Internet.

Sélectionnez Configuration de l’organisme, Transport Hub dans la console de gestion Exchange.

Dans le panneau du milieu sélectionnez l’onglet Connecteurs d’envoi puis, dans le panneau des actions cliquez sur Nouveau Connecteur d’envois. Ce connecteur se configure dans le rôle Transport Hub de l'organisation. Ouvrez le rôle dans l'organisation Exchange. Faites un clic droit puis cliquez sur Nouveau connecteur d'envoi.

Cette action aura pour effet d’ajouter un Connecteur d’envoi. Sur la première page, choisissiez un nom (non nécessaire pour que cela fonctionne)

Sélectionnez l’utilisation à Internet pour configurer un connecteur d’envois, possédant une entrée MX, vers internet.

Sur la prochaine page de l’assistant vous devrez spécifier l’espace d’adressage IP pour ce connecteur.

Cliquez sur Ajouter, la fenêtre Espace d’adressage SMTP apparait.

L’espace d’adressage « * » indique que le connecteur d’envoi envois les messages sortant a n’importe quel nom de domaine sur Internet. Vous pouvez construire des Connecteurs additionnels plus spécifiques pour d’autres cibles d’adresse, comme par exemple « *@compagniejumelle.com » si vous avez des besoins de routage spéciaux.


Sur la page suivante nous basculons la configuration pour rediriger les messages sortant vers le serveur SMTP relais de votre fournisseur d’accès Internet.

L’autre option (utilisation du DNS sans serveur de relais) ne peu être utilisé que si vous êtes connecté a Internet avec une adresse IP fixe et hébergez des pages web vous-mêmes.


La dernière page de l’assistant est requise pour entrer les identifiants de connexion du serveur SMTP relais de votre fournisseur d’accès Internet.

Presque tous les fournisseurs n’exigent que vous vous authentifiez avant de pouvoir utiliser leur serveur de relais, afin d’envoyer des emails sortants. Cette protection limite et protège votre fournisseur d’accès Internet contre les expéditeurs de messages non-sollicités (SPAM). Le nom du compte d’utilisateur utilisé pour l’authentification n’est pas important, cela ne changera pas le contenu des messages envoyés. N’importe quel login fournisseur à un serveur SMTP fera l’affaire.


3. Configurez un Connecteur de réception pour les emails entrants (depuis POPcon) sans authentification

Popcon utilise le protocole SMTP pour transmettre les emails au serveur Exchange. Pour cette tache nous avons besoin de changer 2 paramètres par défaut d’Exchange 2010 Serveur. La taille maximum d’un email est fixée à 10MB et nous avons besoin d’ajouter à l’utilisateur anonyme la permission de groupe afin de permettre à POPcon de transférer les emails.

Important: Assurez vous de ne pas installer le service Windows SMTP. Ce service pourrait empêcher le transport SMTP d’Exchange de répondre sur le port SMTP (25) et aussi causer des boucles infinies pour les emails sortant vers l’Internet si vous l’installez. Ouvrez la console de service depuis les outils administratifs et désactivez ce service.

Vous pouvez trouver ces paramètres de configuration sous le menu Configuration Serveur, Transport Hub, Connecteur Entrants, dans les Propriétés du Connecteur par défaut:

La taille maximum du message est fixée a 10240KB (10MB) par défaut, dans l’onglet Général de ces propriétés changez le pour 102400 (100MB) de façon a bloquer les emails plus gros d’être pris en compte. Vous pouvez toujours définir cette limite par utilisateur, au besoin.


Nous avons aussi besoin d’ajouter les Utilisateurs Anonymes dans l’onglet du Groupe de Permission de façon à permettre à POPcon de se connecter au service du Connecteur Entrant.


4. Assignez des adresses emails individuelles aux utilisateurs Active Directory

Tout ce que vous devez faire maintenant est d’ajouter des adresses email SMTP aux utilisateurs dans Active Directory. Les utilisateurs peuvent avoir plus d’une adresse email SMTP, par exemple ils pourraient avoir accès à info@votrecompanie.com en plus de jean.dubois@votrecompagnie.com.

Microsoft Exchange fournit les fonctions de stratégie d’adressage de messagerie qui vous permettent d’assigner des adresses emails de même format à tous les (incluant les futurs) utilisateurs.

Ouvrez Configuration de l’organisation, Transport Hub, Stratégie d’adressage de messagerie et dans le panneau des actions, cliquez sur nouvelle stratégie d’adressage de messagerie ou plus simplement faites un clic droit en dessous de la règle par défaut puis Nouvelle stratégie d'adresse de messagerie.

Vous pouvez assigner un nom à cette nouvelle stratégie (non-essentiel)


Puis ajouter le nouveau format d’adressage email souhaité, sur la page suivante:

Cliquez sur Ajouter et entrez votre nom de domaine, puis sélectionnez un des formats:



5. Installation et configuration de POPcon et Popcon PRO

Âpres la configuration des 4 étapes précédentes votre Serveur Exchange est configuré pour envoyer des emails sortant mais ne peu toujours pas récupérer les emails entrant depuis une boite email POP3 ou IMAP, depuis le serveur de votre fournisseur. Pour cela vous devez installer et configurer POPcon.

La configuration de POPcon est très simple, vous avez besoin de suite ces 3 étapes:

A) Configurer une adresse email Postmaster dans l’onglet de configuration GENERAL.

B) Ajouter une ou plusieurs boites email POP3, dans l’onglet POP3/IMAP.

C) Configurer le nom du serveur Exchange, dans l’onglet de configuration EXCHANGE


Téléchargez et lancer l’installateur auto-extractible de POPcon ou POPcon PRO et suivez les instructions pendant l’installation. Cela installera l’administrateur et le service POPcon qui s’exécuteront en arrière plan sur votre serveur.

Lancer l’administrateur POPcon depuis le menu Démarrer > Programmes > POPcon

POPcon Administrator

Capture d’écran POPcon


Cliquer sur Configure pour ouvrir l’écran de configuration POPcon.


a) Configurer une adresse email Postmaster dans l’onglet de configuration GENERAL.

Screenshot of general options tab in POPcon PRO

Sur cette première page de configuration vous avez seulement besoin d’entrer l’adresse de votre utilisateur Postmaster ou administrateur. Le Postmaster va recevoir tout les emails sans destinataire valide ainsi que des notifications de statut générales de POPcon. Il est tres important ici, de définir une véritable adresse email appartenant à votre serveur Exchange car des emails pourraient être irréversiblement perdus si le connecteur POPcon les transmet sans informations sur le destinataire au Postmaster et que ce compte de messagerie n’existe pas dans votre serveur Exchange.

Vous pouvez laisser les options du fichier de log avec les paramètres par défaut pour l’instant.


Ensuite allez dans l’onglet POP3/IMAP pour configurer la boite de messagerie POP3 ou IMAP a partir de laquelle vous voulez que le connecteur POPcon télécharge les messages emails.

b) Ajouter une ou plusieurs boites email POP3, dans l’onglet POP3/IMAP.

POPcon PRO POP3 accounts configuration screenshot

POPcon collecte les messages emails depuis le nombre de compte POP3 que vous voulez. Simplement cliquez sur Ajouter pour ajouter une autre hôte ou compte POP3 a la liste commune des hôtes POP3 gérés. Pour chaque serveur ou compte vous devez entrer les paramètres du serveur POP3 comme montrés si dessous.

Si vous utilisez un style de boites email de type "Catch-all" (Boites email qui reçois pour l’intégralité du domaine, indépendamment du nom de destinataire situé avant le "@") POPcon a besoin de filtrer les destinataires de messages entrants de façon a ce que seul les destinataires de votre nom de domaine internet soit acceptés. Ajoutez maintenant le nom du domaine que vous considérez comme le votre dans la boite "Domaines Destinataires Acceptés". Celui-ci est le même nom de domaine préalablement configuré dans la stratégie par défaut de votre serveur Exchange.


Paramètres des comptes individuels

Cette page de configuration vous permet de rentrer les informations spécifiques à propos de votre serveur POP3 et ou IMAP, partir duquel vous voulez que le connecteur POPcon PRO télécharge les messages emails.

Ceci est l’information que POPcon PRO a besoin de connaitre a propos de chaque serveur:

Type de Serveur:

Vous pouvez sélectionner ici, parmi les 4 types de serveurs supportés:

POP3: Par défaut. Les serveurs POP3 sont de loin les plus communs sur Internet.

POP3-SSL: Certain serveurs POP3 ont besoin que l’encryption SSL soit activée a la connexion afin de protéger les mots de passes et informations sensibles. Choisissez ce type de serveur pour avoir une connexion SSL encryptée, avec le serveur POP3.

IMAP: Les serveurs IMAP sont aussi assez communs et permettent théoriquement aux utilisateurs de manipuler des dossiers contenant des messages et déplacer des emails entres des dossiers, directement en ligne. Dans notre cas le protocole est utilisé pour télécharger les messages email depuis une boite de messagerie IMAP vers votre serveur Exchange.

IMAP-SSL: Supporte les connexions SSL aux serveurs IMAP pour une protection supplémentaire.


Access:

Ici, configurez le nom du serveur, le nom du compte et le mot de passe pour la connexion au serveur de messagerie.

Servername: Le nom du serveur à partir duquel vous voulez télécharger les emails. Vous pouvez aussi entrer l’adresse IP directement.

Username: Le nom utilisé pour vous connecter au serveur de messagerie POP3 ou IMAP.

Password: Le mot de passe utilisé pour vous connecter au serveur de messagerie.

IP portnumber: A peu prêt partout le port TCP/IP pour POP3 est 110. Dans certaines circonstances, les routeurs Internet ou pare-feu change le numéro de port. Veuillez demander à votre administrateur réseau ou prestataire de service Internet. Le port standard pour l’utilisation de POP3-SSL est 995, pour IMAP c’est 143 et pour IMAP-SSL il faut le configurer à 993.

Timeout: Laissez ce paramètre avec les valeurs par défaut.

Veuillez demandez a votre fournisseur de service de messagerie POP3 si vous n’avez pas les informations ci-dessus.


Type of mailbox / distribution:

POPcon prend en charge les boites de messagerie « Catch-all » et utilisateurs unique.

Catch-all mailbox ("*@nomdedomaine.com"): Pour ce type de boite email, POPcon va distribuer le message email récupéré depuis votre serveur Exchange, selon ce qu’il trouve dans les champs de l’entête du message TO:, CC:, BCC: et autres. Si vous choisissez cette option, n’oubliez pas d’ajouter le(s) nom(s) de domaine Internet à la fenêtre de configuration des « Domaines Entrants Acceptés » sur la page de configuration de POP3/IMAP.

Single user mailbox ("utilisateur@nomdedomaine.com"): Ce type de boite email Exchange reçois les messages spécifiquement pour une seule boite de messagerie. Vous devez spécifier l’adresse de messagerie du destinataire dans le champ à cet effet. POPcon PRO pourra ainsi diriger tous les messages emails récupérés depuis votre serveur Exchange vers l’adresse de messagerie du destinataire que vous avez configurée.


Delete / keep email on the server:

Cette partie vous permet de configurer POPcon PRO pour qu’il puisse, soit supprimer les messages après les avoir téléchargés, soit les garder dans le compte POP3 ou IMAP du serveur pour la période de temps que vous aurez spécifiée ou même pour une durée indéfinie.

Delete downloaded email: C’est le paramètre par default – POPcon supprimera le message email de votre serveur POP3 ou IMAP, une fois qu’il l’aura téléchargé avec succès.

Leave a copy of downloaded email (indefinitely): Cette option configure POPcon afin qu’il laisse une copie du message email sur le serveur. Utilisez cette option seulement pendant votre période de test ou quand vous êtes sur que le email sera éventuellement supprimé, (ex : par une tierce personne qui télécharge périodiquement le contenu de la boite de messagerie et supprime les messages.)

Leave a copy of downloaded email for n number of days: Configure POPcon pour qu’il laisse une copie des messages emails sur le serveur POP3/IMAP, pour la période de temps que vous aurez spécifiée avant de les supprimer. Vous pouvez utilisez cette option pour permettre l’accès a une boite de messagerie unique POP3 ou IMAP par deux systèmes différents.

c) Configurer le nom du serveur Exchange, dans l’onglet de configuration EXCHANGE

POPcon PRO SMTP/Exchange settings screenshot

Sur cette page de configuration vous pouvez spécifier le serveur Exchange (SMTP) Le serveur sur lequel vous voulez diriger les emails. Normalement il s’agit du nom de l’ordinateur de votre serveur Exchange (comme "MONSERVEUR").

Vous pouvez laisser tous les autres réglages par défaut.


Ces trois étapes pour configurer POPcon vont vous fournir un ensemble de travail fonctionnel. Tester le en confirmant la nouvelle configuration avec OK et ensuite utiliser le bouton Récupération de courrier sur la page principale de l’administration POPcon pour démarrer le téléchargement des premiers emails. Vous pouvez suivre ce qui ce passe dans le fichier de log déroulant afficher sur cette page. Restez attentif à tous les messages d’erreurs affichés dans le log. Il existe aussi un fichier de log pour POPcon que vous pouvez consulter à votre loisir (c:\program files\POPcon\POPconSrv.log – Ouvrir avec Notepad)


(Optionnel) Jetez un œil à notre Add-in Outlook Exchange, ChangeSender

ChangeSender Exchange Send-as Add-in ajoute une importante fonctionnalité à Microsoft Outlook lorsqu’il est utilisé avec un serveur Exchange: Il vous permet d’Envoyer au nom de … n’importe quelle de vos adresses email et même aux groupes d’adresses ou celles d’autre utilisateurs, si permit par l’administrateur. Effectivement ceci est la fonction Exchange Send-as sans les limitations d’Active Directory.

Sans le ChangeSender Exchange send-as components, le serveur Exchange envois toujours les emails sortants à partir de votre compte email par défaut, comme configurée dans Active Directory même quand vous répondez aux messages reçus sur une de vos adresses email additionnelle. Aussi, votre serveur Exchange ne permet pas le partage de la même adresse de messagerie (ex : ensemble d’un département ou a l’échelle de la société) entre utilisateurs.

ChangeSender résout ces deux problèmes en ajoutant une boite de sélection "d’Envoyer au nom de" totalement configurable dans votre client Microsoft Outlook.


Fonctionnalités de ChangeSender


Capture d’écran de ChangeSender dans Outlook 2007

Downloads

Téléchargez la version d’essai gratuite 30 jours de ChangeSender et tester le produit entièrement sans restrictions jusqu'à ce que vous soyez sure qu’il réponde a toutes vos exigences.

ChangeSender consiste a deux modules séparés : un module serveur à installer sur le serveur Exchange et un add-in pour Microsoft Outlook qui est requis pour chacun des clients. L’add-in Outlook ne fonctionne pas sans que le module serveur soit installé.

Modules Serveur:

Téléchargez Exchange Send-as server component, versions pour Exchange 2000 et 2003. A installer sur le serveur Exchange

Téléchargez Exchange Send-as server component, versions pour Exchange 2007 et 2010. A installer sur le serveur Exchange

Module Clients / Outlook add-in:

Téléchargez Exchange Send-as Outlook add-in, à installer sur chaque poste client.

 

Vous pouvez acquérir votre licence ChangeSender Exchange Send-as en ligne et recevoir via email en quelques minutes votre code de licence.

Home

LIVE SUPPORT

Exchange 2010 configuration

This guide shows the steps necessary to configure a newly installed Exchange 2010 server for receiving email from POPcon or POPcon PRO and for sending out emails to the internet.

Basically you need to perform these simple steps:

  1. Add your own internet domain to the “Accepted Domains” list
  2. Configure a Send Connector for outgoing emails
  3. Configure a Receive Connector for incoming emails (from POPcon) without Authentication
  4. Assign email addresses to individual users in the active directory
  5. Installing and configuring POPcon, Exchange POP3 Connector
  6. (Optional) Make sure you know it first when the Exchange server is down
  7. (Optional) Check out the ChangeSender Exchange Send-as Outlook Add-in


This document is also available in other languages:
Français / Italiano / Deutsch / Español / Português


1. Add your own internet domain to the “Accepted Domains” list

Open the Exchange Management Console and select Organization Configuration, Hub Transport.

In the middle pane select the Accepted Domains tab. There already will be one local domain configured here. You can leave it.

Choose New Accepted Domain in the Actions pane.


Choose a name for this domain (not important) and enter your internet domain name (in a domain.com format without @ or *@) as Accepted Domain.

Also, select Authoritative Domain to tell Exchange to accept internet emails for this domain name and to tell Exchange that it is responsible for the whole domain.

Remark: In the rare case where you want to only handle part of a domain in your Exchange, i.e. you only have a few email addresses of this domain in your Exchange and need Exchange to send out email to the internet for all other addresses inside this domain please select "External Relay Domain" instead to tell Exchange to accept internet emails for this domain name and to tell Exchange that it is responsible for only part of the domain.



2. Configure a send connector for outgoing emails

The send connector is used to pipe outgoing emails from Exchange via your providers SMTP relay server to the internet.

Select Organisation Configuration, Hub Transport in the Exchange Management Console.

In the middle pane select the Send Connectors tab. And in the Actions pane click on New Send Connector

We will add a new send connector. Choose any name (not important for the function) on the first page:

On the next wizard page we need to specify an address space to be served for this connector.

The address space „*“ means this send connector is sending out email to any domain on the internet. You can build additional specific send connectors for other target addresses, like “*@sistercompany.com” if there are special routing requirements. This allows your to instruct our Exchange server to use a different e-mail server (smart host) to send e-mails depending on the domain you send to. Unfortunately this is seldom useful and does not allow different smart hosts depending on the sender domain. If you want that please check out our MultiSendcon, the multi-domain send connector for Exchange


On the next page we switch the configuration to Route email through your provider SMTP relay server (Smarthost in Exchange terms) and add the provider server address.

The other option (use DNS without a relay server) can only be used when you are connected on a fixed IP address and host the webpages yourself.


The last page of the wizard is needed to enter the provider SMTP relay servers username/password credentials. Almost all provider servers require you to log in before you can use their relay servers to send out email to protect against spam senders. It does not matter which users login data you use, this will not change the email content. Any provider SMTP server login will do.


3. Configure the receive connector for incoming email

POPcon uses SMTP to forward emails to Exchange. For this to work we need to change two Exchange 2010 default configuration settings: The maximum email size is fixed to 10MB here and we need to add the anonymous user to the permission group in order to allow POPcon to transfer email.

Important: You also need to make sure to not install the Windows "Simple Mail Transfer Protocol" service. This service could block the Exchange SMTP transport from actually answering the SMTP IP port (25) and could cause Emails to loop back to the internet if installed. Check Administrative tools, Services and disable this service.

We can find these configuration settings under Server Configuration, Hub Transport, Receive Connectors, Properties of the Default Receive Connector:

The maximum message size is fixed to 10240KB (10MB) by default on the General tab of these properties. Change that to 102400 (100MB) in order not to allow longer emails to come through. You can always limit individual user’s allowed maximum email sizes.


We also need to add the Anonymous users to the Permission Groups tab in order to allow POPcon to connect to this receive connector at all.


4. Assign email addresses to users in the active directory

All you need to do now is to add SMTP email addresses to users in the active directory. Users can have more than one SMTP address, for example they can have info@yourcompany.com in addition to jeff.smith@yourcompany.com.

Exchange provides the convenient E-Mail Address Policies feature that allows you to assign identically formatted email addresses to all (including future) users.

Open up Organization Configuration, Hub Transport, E-Mail Address Policies and click on New E-mail Address Policy in the actions pane.

You can assign a (non-essential) name to the new policy:


And then add a new E-Mail Addresses format on the next page:

Enter your domain name and select one of the formats:



5. Installing and configuring POPcon or POPcon PRO

After going through the above 4 steps your Exchange is configured to send out email but it still can't pull down email from POP3 or IMAP mailboxes on your provider server. For this you need to install and configure POPcon.

Configuring POPcon is quite straightforward. You need to follow these steps:

a) Configure a Postmaster email address on the GENERAL configuration tab.

b) Add one or more POP3 mailboxes on the POP3/IMAP tab.

c) Configure the Exchange server name on the EXCHANGE configuration tab.


Download and run the self-extracting installer of POPcon or POPcon PRO and follow the instructions during the installation. It will install the POPcon Administrator program and the POPcon service that runs in the background on your system.

Run POPcon Adminstrator from Start > Programs > POPcon

POPcon Administrator

POPcon Screenshot


Click on "Configure" to open up the POPcon configuration screen.


a) Configure a Postmaster email address on the GENERAL configuration tab.

Screenshot of general options tab in POPcon PRO

On this first configuration page you only need to enter the email address of your Postmaster or Administrator user. The Postmaster will receive all emails without a valid recipient as well as general POPcon status notifications. It is very important to define a real email address from inside your exchange server here because mails can be lost irretrievably if POPcon forwards some mail with no recipient information to the postmaster and that account does not exist in your exchange server.

You can leave the log file options to their default settings for now.


Next go to the POP3/IMAP tab to configure the POP3 or IMAP mailbox accoutns you want POPcon to download email from.

b) Add one or more POP3 mailboxes on the POP3/IMAP tab.

POPcon PRO POP3 accounts configuration screenshot

POPcon PRO collects mail from as many POP3 accounts you like. Just click on Add to add another POP3 host or account to the list of Polled POP3 Hosts. For each server or account you need to fill in the POP3 server settings as shown below.

If you are using catch-all style mailboxes (mailboxes that receive email for a whole domain, regardless of the recipient part before the "@") POPcon needs to filter recipients from incoming mail so only the recipients at your own internet domain are accepted. Please add the domain you consider your own in the "Accepted Recipient Domains" box. This is the same domain you configured earlier in the Exchange Default Policy.


Individual account settings

This dialog lets you input the specifics about a POP3 or an IMAP server you want to have polled by POPcon PRO.

This is the information POPcon PRO needs to know about each server:

Server type:

Here you can select on the four supported server types:

POP3: Default. POP3 servers are by far the most common mail server types on the internet.

POP3-SSL: Some POP3 Servers need SSL encryption enabled for the connection in order to protect passwords and sensitive information. Choose this type to have a SSL-encrypted connection to a POP3 server.

IMAP: IMAP Servers are also quite common and theoretically allow the client to manipulate email folders and move email between folders online. In our case the protocol is used to download email from the INBOX of the IMAP server to your exchange server.

IMAP-SSL: Supports SSL connections to IMAP servers for added protection.


Access:

Configure the server name, account name and password to connect to the mail server here.

Servername: The name the server you want to have polled. You can also enter the IP address directly.

Username: The username needed to log into your POP3 or IMAP mail server.

Password: The password needed to log into your mail server.

IP portnumber: Almost always the TCP/IP port for POP3 mail is 110. Under some circumstances, internet routers or firewalls change the port number. Please ask your network administrator or internet provider. The standard port for POP3-SSL is 995, for IMAP it is 143 and for IMAP-SSL this should be set to 993.

Timeout: Leave this to the default value.

Please ask your POP3 mailbox hosting provider if you do not have the above information.


Type of mailbox / distribution:

POPcon PRO supports both catch-all and single user mailboxes

Catch-all mailbox ("*@domainname.com"): For this type of mailbox, POPcon PRO will distribute the email retrieved from this server according to what it finds in the TO:, CC:, BCC: and other header-fields of the mail. If you choose this option, don’t forget to add your internet domain name(s) to the "Accepted Recipient Domains" box. on the POP3/IMAP configuration dialog

Single user mailbox ("user@domainname.com"): This type of mailbox receives email for only one specific Exchange mailbox. You need to specify the receiver of the email here. POPcon PRO will then direct all mail retrieved from this server to the recipient email address given here.


Delete / keep email on the server:

This block allows you to configure POPcon PRO to either delete email after downloading or keep it on your POP3 or IMAP server for a specified amount of time or indefinitely.

Delete downloaded email: This is the default setting – POPcon PRO will delete the Email on your POP3 or IMAP server after successfully downloading it.

Leave a copy of downloaded email (indefinitely): This option will cause POPcon PRO to leave a copy of the email on the server. Only use this option during testing or when you are sure the mail will be deleted eventually, i.e. by another system periodically downloading an deleting email.

Leave a copy of downloaded email for n number of days: Causes POPcon PRO to leave a copy of the email on the POP3/IMAP server for the specified number of days before deleting it. You can use this option to allow access to a single POP3 or IMAP mailbox by two different systems.

c) Configure the Exchange server name on the EXCHANGE configuration tab.

POPcon PRO SMTP/Exchange settings screenshot

On this configuration screen you can specify the Exchange™-(SMTP) Server you want the mail to be directed to. Normally this will be the computer name of your Exchange™ server (like "MYSERVER").

You can leave all other settings default


These three steps to configure POPcon will provide you with a working set-up. Test it out by confirming the new configuration with OK and then use the "Trigger mail retrieval" button on the POPcon Administrator main screen to start the first mail download. You can follow what is happening in the scrolling log display on that screen. Watch out for any error messages there. There is also a POPcon log file (c:\program files\POPcon\POPconSrv.log – open with notepad) that you can view at your leisure.


6. Server down? Know about server problems before your users do

We recently introduced ServerPulse, a new service that monitors your servers and immediately alerts you by text message and email if there are any problems. ServerPulse also watches important server operating parameters: Disk space, used RAM and CPU load - so you'll know about problems even before they bring down a system.

Just imagine: Your client doesn't call you because his server is down. Instead you'll call him first

What will that do for your relationship with your client?

This is what ServerPulse will do for you:



Give the service a try - it's free for 30 days: ServerPulse.



7. Check out the ChangeSender Outlook Add-in

ChangeSender Exchange Send-as Add-in adds one important piece of functionality to Microsoft Outlook when used with Exchange Server: It allows you to send as any of your email addresses and even group addresses or those of other users if allowed by the administrator. Effectively this is the Exchange Send-as function without the limitations of the ActiveDirectory

Without the ChangeSender Exchange send-as components, Exchange always sends out emails on your default email address fixed in the ActiveDirectory even when answering emails received on one of your additional email addresses. Also, Exchange does not allow sharing the same email address (i.e. department-wide or company-wide email addresses) between users. ChangeSender solves both problems by adding a configurable "send as" selection box to your Outlook email form.


ChangeSender Features


ChangeSender in Outlook 2007 screenshot

Downloads

Download the free 30-day trial version of ChangeSender and test the full product without any restrictions until you are sure it meets all your requirements. Then just order license codes to remove the 30 day limit without re-installing.

ChangeSender consists of two separate components: A server component to be installed on the Exchange server and a Microsoft Outlook add-in component that is needed for each client. The Outlook add-in does not work without the server component installed as well.

Server component:

Download Exchange Send-as server component, Exchange 2000, 2003 version Install this on the Exchange Server (this version for Exchange 2000 or 2003)

Download Exchange Send-as server component, Exchange 2007, 2010 version Install this on the Exchange Server (this version for Exchange 2007 or 2010)

Client component / Outlook add-in:

Download Exchange Send-as Outlook add-in Install this on each user's system.

 

You can license ChangeSender Exchange Send-as online and will receive the license codes by email in just minutes.